1	SENATE FLOOR VERSION February 20, 2019
2	AS AMENDED
3	SENATE BILL NO. 145 By: Floyd of the Senate
4	and
5	Osburn of the House
6	
7	
8	[Merit Protection - Task Force on Merit Protection - noncodification - effective date]
9	noncodification - effective date]
10	
11	BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:
12	SECTION 1. NEW LAW A new section of law not to be
13	codified in the Oklahoma Statutes reads as follows:
14	A. There is hereby created until December 31, 2020, the Task
15	Force on Merit Protection to study and evaluate the feasibility and
16	efficacy of transferring the oversight of the Merit Protection
17	Commission to the Administrative Office of the Courts.
18	B. The Task Force shall submit a report of its findings and
19	recommendations by November 1, 2020, to the Governor, the President
20	Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of
21	Representatives, which shall include, but not be limited to:
22	1. An analysis of the effects of transferring the oversight of
23	the Merit Protection Commission to the judicial branch;
24	

- 2. Recommendations for modification of the powers and duties of the Commission;
 - 3. Necessary changes, if any, to the Merit System of Personnel Administration and the Oklahoma Merit Protection Commission Revolving Fund as may be required by a transfer of oversight;
- 4. Necessary changes, if any, to the Whistleblower Act, Section
 840-2.5 of Title 74 of the Oklahoma Statutes, as may be required by
 a transfer of oversight; and
 - 5. Recommendations to ensure the enforcement of protections for employees and citizens under the Merit System of Personnel Administration.
- 12 C. The Task Force shall be comprised of thirteen (13) members
 13 as follows:
 - 1. The Administrative Director of the Courts or designee;
 - 2. The Chair of the Merit Protection Commission or designee;
 - 3. The Executive Director of the Merit Protection Commission or designee;
- 18 4. The Executive Director of the Oklahoma Public Employees
 19 Association or designee;
 - 5. Three members appointed by the Governor, no more than two of whom shall be from the same political party;
- 22 6. Three members of the Senate appointed by the President Pro
 23 Tempore of the Senate, no more than two of whom shall be from the
 24 same political party; and

3

4

5

9

10

11

14

15

16

17

20

21

7. Three members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, no more than two of whom shall be from the same political party.

The Chair of the Task Force shall be selected by the Governor.

- D. A quorum of the Task Force shall be required to approve any final action of the Task Force. For purposes of this section, seven (7) members shall constitute a quorum.
- E. The Task Force may meet as often as may be required in order to perform the duties imposed upon it. The Chair shall call the first meeting and all subsequent meetings shall be made at the call of the Chair.
- F. The meetings of the Task Force shall be subject to the Oklahoma Open Meeting Act.
- G. Members of the Task Force shall receive no compensation for their service, but shall receive travel reimbursement as follows:
- 1. Legislative members of the Task Force shall be reimbursed for necessary travel expenses incurred in the performance of their duties in accordance with the provisions of Section 456 of Title 74 of the Oklahoma Statutes: and
- 2. Nonlegislative members of the Task Force shall be reimbursed by their appointing authorities or respective agencies for necessary travel expenses incurred in the performance of their duties in accordance with the State Travel Reimbursement Act.

1	H. Staff support shall be provided by the Governor's office,
2	the Senate and the House of Representatives.
3	SECTION 2. This act shall become effective November 1, 2019.
4	COMMITTEE REPORT BY: COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS February 20, 2019 - DO PASS AS AMENDED
5	residary 20, 2019 DO TASS AS AMENDED
6	
7	
8	
9	
L O	
1	
L2	
L3	
L 4	
L5	
L6	
L7	
L8	
L9	
20	
21	
22	
23	
. 4	